Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

LBL Publications

Title

Preface IEEE LDAV 2023

Permalink

https://escholarship.org/uc/item/2756t86x

Authors

Bremer, Peer-Timo Potter, Kristi Frey, Steffen et al.

Publication Date

2023-10-23

DOI

10.1109/ldav60332.2023.00005

Peer reviewed

IEEE LDAV 2023 Preface

Join us for the 13th IEEE Symposium on Large Data Analysis and Visualization (IEEE LDAV) on Monday, October 23rd 2023 collocated with IEEE VIS 2023 in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

Modern large-scale scientific simulations, sensor networks, and experiments are generating enormous datasets, with some projects approaching the multiple exabyte range in the near term. Managing and analyzing large datasets in order to transform it into insight is critical for a variety of disciplines including climate science, nuclear physics, security, materials design, transportation, and urban planning. The tools and approaches needed to mine, analyze, and visualize data at extreme scales can be fully realized only if there are end-to-end solutions, which demands collective, interdisciplinary efforts. LDAV is specifically targeting methodological innovation, algorithmic foundations, and possible end-to-end solutions. The LDAV symposium will bring together domain scientists, data analysts, visualization researchers, and users to foster common ground for solving both near- and long-term problems.

Symposium website: https://ldav.org/2023/

Symposium Chairs

Peer-Timo Bremer, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Kristi Potter, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Paper Chairs

Steffen Frey, University of Groningen Silvio Rizzi, Argonne National Laboratory Gunther Weber, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Poster Chairs

Soumya Dutta, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IITK) Jonas Lukasczyk, Technical University Kaiserslautern Nicole Marsiglia, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Steering Committee

Hank Childs, University of Oregon

Chaoli Wang, University of Notre Dame Kenneth Morelan, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Kristi Potter, National Renewable Energy Laboratory Julien Tierny, CNRS - Sorbonne Université Hongfeng Yu, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Program Committee

Mark Bolstad,. Sandia National Laboratories

Hamish Carr, University of Leeds

Warren Davis IV, Sandia National Laboratories

Soumya Dutta, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IITK)

Takanori Fujiwara, Linköping University

Tim Gerrits, RWTH Aachen University

Pascal Grosset Pascal Grosset, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Hangi Guo, The Ohio State University

Markus Hadwiger, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology

Joseph Insley, Argonne National Laboratory

Won-Ki Jeong, Korea University

Ming Jiang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Aaron Knoll, Advanced Micro Devices

Kwan-Liu Ma, University of California at Davis

Nicole Marsaglia, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Victor Mateevitsi, Argonne National Laboratory

Patrick O'Leary, Kitware

Hyungman Park, University of Texas at Austin

David Pugmire, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Bruno Raffin, INRIA

David Rogers, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Filip Sadlo, Heidelberg University

Timothy Shead, Sandia National Laboratories

Han-Wei Shen, The Ohio State University

David Thompson, Kitware

Will Usher, Intel

Qi Wu, University of California at Davis