eScholarship

Combinatorial Theory

Title

Editorial

Permalink

https://escholarship.org/uc/item/4vb046p0

Journal

Combinatorial Theory, 1(0)

ISSN

2766-1334

Author

Editorial Team, Combinatorial Theory

Publication Date

2021

DOI

10.5070/C61055307

Copyright Information

Copyright 2021 by the author(s). This work is made available under the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution License, available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

EDITORIAL

Submitted: Sep 19, 2021; Accepted: Oct 4, 2021; Published: Dec 15, 2021 © The authors. Released under the CC BY license (International 4.0).

This is the first issue of our new journal, *Combinatorial Theory*. It is owned by mathematicians, dedicated to Diamond Open Access publishing with no fees for authors or readers, and committed to an inclusive view of the vibrant worldwide community in Combinatorics.

The journal shares a similar scope with the long-running *Journal of Combinatorial Theory Ser. A* (JCT A), owned by Elsevier. In 2020, almost all of the editors of JCT A resigned, deciding that it was the time to found a premier Combinatorics journal owned by mathematicians, not by a commercial publisher. Thus was born *Combinatorial Theory*.

That birth has allowed us to rethink how and what we publish. We are proud to have assembled a broad and diverse team of editors. We are also pleased with two new features in our editorial process: *doubly-anonymous refereeing* to mitigate implicit biases during peer review, and the inauguration of *Expository Article* submissions to encourage inclusion of valuable well-written expositions.

Thanks are due to the combinatorics community for its gratifying support. Additionally, we thank Rachel Lee and Justin Gonder from *eScholarship* for their ongoing help in setting up the journal, and we thank Alex Scorpan of *Mathematical Sciences Publishing* for his help with our editorial platform *EditFlow*. We are grateful to Catherine Mitchell, Rachael Samberg, and Sharla Lair for helping secure a strong financial footing for the journal, particularly through the support of the *University of California Libraries* and the pilot of *Lyrasis/OACIP* (Open Access Community Investment Program). We are grateful for early funding given by *MathOA*, *TIB Hannover*, and for pledges of support from many university libraries listed on our Sponsors page.

Lastly, we give our heartfelt thanks to you, our authors and readers.

Managing Editors:

Matthias Beck, Vincent Pilaud, Viviane Pons

Handling Editors:

John Bamberg, Hélène Barcelo, Boris Bukh, David Conlon, Ilse Fischer, Mihyun Kang, Jang Soo Kim, Matjaž Konvalinka, Lionel Levine, Sarah Mason, Marni Mishna, Alejandro Morales, Bernhard Mühlherr, Eran Nevo, Giorgis Petridis, Leonid Petrov, Victor Reiner, Anne Schilling, Christian Stump, Ae Ja Yee, Josephine Yu, Mike Zabrocki

Advisory Editors:

Federico Ardila, Mireille Bousquet-Mélou, Jacob Fox, Peter Frankl, Timothy Gowers, June Huh, William M. Kantor, Peter Keevash, Christian Krattenthaler, Daniela Kühn, Bernard Leclerc, Ezra Miller, Dhruv Mubayi, Andrew M. Odlyzko, Gilles Schaeffer, Bernd Sturmfels, Jacques Verstraete, Van H. Vu, S. Ole Warnaar, Volkmar Welker, Lauren K. Williams

Honorary Editors:

Adriano Garsia, David Jackson, Gil Kalai, Bruce Rothschild, Richard Stanley, Richard M. Wilson