UCLA

Carte Italiane

Title

Laura Franklin Memorial Award (Vol4)

Permalink

https://escholarship.org/uc/item/99r649mk

Journal

Carte Italiane, 1(4)

ISSN

0737-9412

Publication Date

1983

Copyright Information

Copyright 1983 by the author(s). All rights reserved unless otherwise indicated. Contact the author(s) for any necessary permissions. Learn more at https://escholarship.org/terms

Peer reviewed

LAURA FRANKLIN MEMORIAL AWARD

The Laura Franklin Memorial Award is offered in memory of Laura Franklin, a graduate student in the Department of Italian who passed away May 2, 1982. The \$100 annual award, initiated by the graduate students in the department, and funded by the Graduate Student Association and friends, is granted for an outstanding essay on literature or art history of the Italian Middle Ages or Renaissance.

The first Laura Franklin Memorial Award was granted to Shalom Sabar for his essay entitled *The Use and Meaning of Christian Motifs in Illustrations of Jewish Marriage Contracts in Italy*.

Graduate or undergraduate students who wish to compete for the 1984 award should send their essays by March 30, 1984 to:

Laura Franklin Memorial Award c/o Department of Italian 340 Royce Hall University of California Los Angeles, CA 90024 70 CARTE ITALIANE

The Institute for Vico Studies, New York, is pleased to announce the publication of NEW VICO STUDIES (I, 1983), a serial intended to make a place for articles, discussions, reviews, abstracts, and notes that reflect the current state of the study of the thought of Giambattista Vico. The study of Vico is understood to be not only the study of Vico's work but to be inclusive of ideas that are Vichian in nature, ideas that may have some special interest for those involved in Vico's thought.

NEW VICO STUDIES is conceived as a series of volumes that will appear on an approximate yearly basis. Its editors are Giorgio Tagliacozzo, Founder and Director of the Institute for Vico Studies, and Donald Phillip Verene, Chairman of the Department of Philosophy of Emory University. Members of the Editorial Board are Andrea Battistini (University of Bologna), Isaiah Berlin (Oxford University), Max H. Fisch (Indiana University-Purdue University), Ernesto Grassi (University of Munich), Leon Pompa (University of Birmingham, (England), Alain Pons (University of Paris—Nanterre), Hayden White (University of California, Santa Cruz). The contributors to Vol. I are Naomi S. Baron, David Black, Gustavo Costa, Margherita Frankel, Linda Gardiner-Janik, Howard Gardner, Bruce A. Haddock, William M. Johnston, Eckhard Kessler, John Michael Krois, Edith Kurzweil, Harold Samuel Stone, Nancy S. Struever, Noriyuki Sugiura, Giorgio Tagliacozzo, Donald Phillip Verene, Hayden White.

Questions concerning this publication and submission of materials should be addressed to the *Institute for Vico Studies*, 69 Fifth Avenue, New York, N.Y. 10003. To order NEW VICO STUDIES (I, 1983), please send check or money order for \$12.50, plus \$1.00 for postage and handling, payable to: NEW VICO STUDIES, 69 Fifth Avenue, New York, N.Y. 10003.