Skip to main content
Open Access Publications from the University of California

UC San Diego

UC San Diego Electronic Theses and Dissertations bannerUC San Diego

Three Compositions: Bless This Mess, Wonderful Things, Music is My Life

  • Author(s): Wightman, David Andrew
  • Advisor(s): Liang, Lei
  • et al.

This dissertation documents three compositions: Bless This Mess for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion, Wonderful Things for soprano, guitar and vibraphone, and Music is My Life for electric guitar and drum machine. Bless This Mess contrasts disjunct gestures to create ecstatic static textures that develop in musically eccentric manners. Wonderful Things consists of four movements that contain interrupting themes from the remaining three movements. Music is My Life uses heavy metal vocabularies, repetition and physically exhausting performance demands to create a work of ecstatic stasis.

Main Content
Current View