Skip to main content
Open Access Publications from the University of California

UC San Diego

UC San Diego Electronic Theses and Dissertations bannerUC San Diego

Noon at dusk : a chamber opera in one act


Noon at Dusk is a one-act chamber opera in six scenes based on a libretto by Yi Hong Sim. The narrative explores contemporary problems faced by people who are expected to be willing to sacrifice their relationships, families, and sense of belonging to a home in order to pursue their careers. The opera has six characters, four of whom are in relationships that are tested by job opportunities that require relocation. In both cases, someone would need to be left behind. Noon at Dusk does not take a simplistic view of this widespread modern problem, but instead explores its subtleties and contradictions. In short, there is no good solution to this dilemma, once one is faced with it. One must sacrifice something, and one must live with this sacrifice, like a shadow of a life once desired but now impossible to attain. Noon at Dusk is in one act with six scenes. The opera lasts approximately 75 minutes. Important musical moments include the prelude, the duet at the end of Scene 1, the short aria in Scene 2A, the bravura set-piece in Scene 2C, the dramatic climax that is Scene 4, the duet in Scene 5A, the Vocalise in Scene 5B, and the final aria in Scene 6

Main Content
For improved accessibility of PDF content, download the file to your device.
Current View