Skip to main content
Open Access Publications from the University of California

UC San Diego

UC San Diego Electronic Theses and Dissertations bannerUC San Diego



Hwilwæg is a concert-length piece composed between June 2018 and May 2019. It sets texts from the Anglo-Saxon chronicle for three voices and a mixed ensemble of fourteen instruments. Each of the ten movements explores a musical landscape developed around a chant-based approach to text setting. Cyclical techniques are employed from the production of local material to movement structure and global development. The work relies on the influence of disparate musical sources, including polyphony from the Winchester Troper, American minimalism, and the orchestral cycles of Olivier Mesisaen. Hwilwæg was premiered on June 2, 2019 at UC San Diego.

Main Content
For improved accessibility of PDF content, download the file to your device.
Current View