Skip to main content
Open Access Publications from the University of California

UC Davis

UC Davis Previously Published Works bannerUC Davis

Analysis of the Baseline Assessments Conducted in 35 U.S. State/Territory Emergency Management Programs: Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) 2003-2004


The Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) is a non profit organization developed to accredit government emergency management programs in the 56 U.S. states and territories. This accreditation model is based on the NFPA 1600 Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs. In 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency funded EMAP to conduct baseline assessments of each U.S. state and territory to assess their emergency management capabilities. Between January 2003 and December 2004, EMAP conducted baseline assessments of 35 U.S. state and territory emergency management programs. This study was designed to analyze the results of those assessments, and suggests most state-level emergency management programs focus more resources on the response phase of emergency management and fewer resources on the recovery and mitigation phases.

Many UC-authored scholarly publications are freely available on this site because of the UC's open access policies. Let us know how this access is important for you.

Main Content
For improved accessibility of PDF content, download the file to your device.
Current View