Skip to main content
Open Access Publications from the University of California

UC San Diego

UC San Diego Previously Published Works bannerUC San Diego

The phospholipase A2 superfamily and its group numbering system

Published Web Location
No data is associated with this publication.

The superfamily of phospholipase A(2) (PLA(2)) enzymes currently consists of 15 Groups and many subgroups and includes five distinct types of enzymes, namely the secreted PLA(2)s (sPLA(2)), the cytosolic PLA(2)s (cPLA(2)), the Ca(2+) independent PLA(2)s (iPLA(2)), the platelet-activating factor acetylhydrolases (PAF-AH), and the lysosomal PLA(2)s. In 1994, we established the systematic Group numbering system for these enzymes. Since then, the PLA(2) superfamily has grown continuously and over the intervening years has required several updates of this Group numbering system. Since our last update, a number of new PLA(2)s have been discovered and are now included. Additionally, tools for the investigation of PLA(2)s and approaches for distinguishing between the different Groups are described.

Many UC-authored scholarly publications are freely available on this site because of the UC's open access policies. Let us know how this access is important for you.

Item not freely available? Link broken?
Report a problem accessing this item